Manual Chapter : Syncing the master key when adding a device to a device group

Applies To:

Show Versions Show Versions

BIG-IP LTM

  • 17.0.0, 16.1.2, 16.1.1, 16.1.0, 16.0.1, 16.0.0, 15.1.5, 15.1.4, 15.1.3, 15.1.2, 15.1.1, 15.1.0, 15.0.1, 15.0.0, 14.1.4, 14.1.3, 14.1.2, 14.1.0, 14.0.1, 14.0.0, 13.1.5, 13.1.4, 13.1.3, 13.1.1, 13.1.0

BIG-IP DNS

  • 17.0.0, 16.1.2, 16.1.1, 16.1.0, 16.0.1, 16.0.0, 15.1.5, 15.1.4, 15.1.3, 15.1.2, 15.1.1, 15.1.0, 15.0.1, 15.0.0, 14.1.4, 14.1.3, 14.1.2, 14.1.0, 14.0.1, 14.0.0, 13.1.5, 13.1.4, 13.1.3, 13.1.1, 13.1.0
Manual Chapter

Syncing the master key when adding a device to a device group

When you have an existing Device Services Clustering (DSC) device group that contains two or more devices, and you want to add another BIG-IP device to the device group, you can log in to any device in the device group, navigate to the Device Group settings, and specify the device in the local trust domain that you want to add to the device group. When you do this, the device you are logged in to automatically syncs its BIG-IP configuration, including the shared master key, to the new device.
Before you attempt to add another device to an existing device group, make sure that the new device is in the local trust domain and that all device group members are in sync.
For example, suppose you have a device group with two devices,
Device_A
and
Device_B
, and you want to add
Device_C
to the device group. You can log in to any device in the device group (for example,
Device_A
), navigate to the Device Group settings, and specify that you want
Device_C
to join the device group.
In this case, when joining the device group,
Device_C
receives a copy of
Device_A
's shared master key, as part of the initial config sync to that new device.