Manual Chapter : Deploying Objects with Resolved Conflicts back to their Device

Applies To:

Show Versions Show Versions

BIG-IQ Centralized Management

  • 7.1.0
Manual Chapter

Deploying Objects with Resolved Conflicts back to their Device

How do I deploy my conflict resolution changes?

After you finish analyzing conflicts for a device in a silo, if you made any changes to the objects, you must deploy those changes back to the managed device before proceeding further. The evaluate and deploy process is essentially the same as for any changes you make to objects on a managed device, except you need to make sure you are deploying changes from the silo in which you made the changes.
This figure illustrates the work flow for using a silo to resolve conflicts triggered by importing a BIG-IP device. Resolving conflicts within the silo is the third step in this process.
Deploy configuration changes back to the BIG-IP
Deploy configuration changes back to the BIG-IP
  1. Make changes to LTM configuration objects in the silo.
  2. Evaluate changes to siloed LTM objects.
  3. Deploy changes from the silo to the managed device.
  4. Remove the device from the silo.

How do shared objects impact my deployments?

The objects that you manage using BIG-IQ depend on associations with other, supporting objects. These supporting objects are called
shared objects
because they are shared between multiple BIG-IP devices. When BIG-IQ evaluates a deployment to a managed device, it starts by deploying the device-specific objects. Then it examines the managed device to compile a list of the objects that are needed by other objects on that device. Then (based on the recent analysis) BIG-IQ deletes any shared objects that exist on the managed device but are not used. So, if there are objects on a managed device that are not being used, the next time you deploy changes to that device, BIG-IQ deletes the unused objects.

Evaluate and deploy LTM silo changes

Evaluating the changes you made in-silo gives you a chance to spot critical errors and review your revisions one more time before deploying them.
  1. At the top of the screen, click
    Deployment
    .
  2. Under
    EVALUATE & DEPLOY
    , select
    Local Traffic & Network
    .
    The screen opens a list of LTM evaluations and deployments that have been created on this device.
  3. Under Evaluations, click
    Create
    .
    The New Evaluation screen opens.
  4. Select the
    Silo
    in which you made the conflict resolution changes.
  5. Type a
    Name
    and an optional
    Description
    for the evaluation task you are creating.
  6. Leave the
    Source
    ,
    Source Scope
    , and
    Unused Objects
    fields in their default settings.
  7. From the Available list under Target Devices, select the devices to which you want to deploy changes, and move them to the Selected list.
    Because you identified the silo that you are deploying changes from, BIG-IQ lists only the devices that you imported to that silo.
  8. Click the
    Create
    button at the bottom of the screen.
    The system adds the new evaluation to the list, and analyzes the changes for errors. When the configuration evaluation finishes, you see how many changes or errors the evaluation found.
  9. Review the evaluation and determine whether you are going to deploy it.
    1. If there are critical errors, you cannot deploy these changes. In the Critical Errors column, click each error to see what it is, and then go back to where you made the change to fix it.
      After resolving any critical errors, you can come back and repeat the evaluation.
    2. If there are verification warnings, you can still deploy your changes, but you will probably want to resolve the warnings first. In the Verification Warnings column, click each warning to see what it is, and then go back to where you made the change to fix it.
      After resolving any verification warnings, you can come back and repeat the evaluation.
    3. If there are no critical errors or verification warnings, review the changes by clicking the
      view
      link.
      Each change is listed. You can review each one by clicking the name.
    4. When you finish reviewing the differences, click
      Cancel
      .
  10. Click the name of the evaluation that you just created.
    The View Evaluation screen opens.
  11. Scroll down to Deployment, and then for Schedule, click
    Deploy Now
    , and then click
    Deploy
    again to confirm.
Changes you made to configuration objects in the silo are deployed back to the device on which they reside.
Now you can remove the device from the silo so you can re-import it and begin managing it.

Remove device from a silo

Before you remove a device from a silo you must have completed the following:
  • Use the silo to review each conflict between an object on the device you want to manage and an object with that same name that resides on a device that you are already managing.
  • Deploy any changes you made to these conflicting objects back to the devices on which they reside.
You remove a device from a silo when you are ready to import that device to the default silo. You need to remove the device from the silo before you re-import it and complete the conflict resolution work flow.
  1. At the top of the screen, click
    Devices
    , then, on the left, click
    BIG-IP DEVICES
    .
    The screen displays the list of devices managed by this BIG-IQ.
  2. Click the name of the device that you want to remove from a silo to display the device properties screen.
  3. For
    Silo Properties
    , click
    Edit
    .
  4. For
    Target Silo
    , click
    Do Not Use a Silo
    and then click
    Continue
    to start the process.
    While BIG-IQ removes the device from the silo, you can
    Close
    the pop-up screen and click
    Cancel
    to close the properties screen.
When the silo removal is complete, BIG-IQ displays
Complete import tasks
.
Now that the device is out of the silo, you need to re-import the device so you can finish resolving any conflicts and start managing it. You will need the list of conflict resolution choices you made when you analyzed device conflicts in the silo so you can specify those choices during re-import.