Manual Chapter : Make an urgent DNS deployment

Applies To:

Show Versions Show Versions

BIG-IQ Centralized Management

  • 7.1.0
Manual Chapter

Make an urgent DNS deployment

If you need to make an urgent change, you can skip the
Evaluate configuration changes
task and immediately deploy changes to the BIG-IP device. The system still validates changes to configuration objects; if there are critical errors, the deployment does not proceed. But you can avoid the task of creating an evaluation and viewing the changes and get right to deploying your changes.
F5 does not generally recommend making a deployment without evaluating the changes first. However, in situations where you need to deploy changes as quickly as possible, you can deploy the changes right away. The urgent deployment work flow skips the task of creating an evaluation, which speeds up the process of deploying your changes.
  1. At the top of the screen, click
    Deployment
    .
  2. Under
    EVALUATE & DEPLOY
    , select
    DNS
    .
    The screen opens a list of DNS evaluations and deployments that have been created on this device.
  3. Under Deployments, click
    Create
    .
    The New Deployment screen opens.
  4. Type a name
    Name
    for the deployment task you are creating.
  5. Type a brief
    Description
    for the deployment task you are creating.
  6. For the
    Source
    setting, select what you want to deploy.
    • To deploy your changes to the managed device, select
      Current Changes
      .
    • To deploy the object settings from a stored snapshot, select
      Existing Snapshot
      , then choose the snapshot you want to use.
  7. For the
    Unused Objects
    setting, specify whether you want the system to delete unused objects from the BIG-IP devices that you are deploying changes to.
    If you do not want the system to delete unused objects:
    select
    Keep Unused Objects
    .
    If you want the system to delete objects not referenced (directly or indirectly) by an object:
    leave
    Remove Unused Objects
    (the default) selected.
    To understand what an unused object is, consider the following example:
    There are two address lists on the BIG-IP device to which you are about to deploy changes (
    AddressList-a
    and
    AddressList-b
    ).
    • AddressList-a
      is referenced by a policy that in turn is referenced by a firewall context.
    • AddressList-b
      is not referenced (directly or indirectly) by any objects.
    If you leave
    Remove Unused Objects
    (the default) selected, then when you deploy changes to the BIG-IP device,
    AddressList-b
    is deleted. If you don’t want it deleted, select
    Keep Unused Objects
    .
  8. For
    Method
    , consider one more time how you want to deploy these changes.
    • If you want to review the changes, click
      Create evaluation
      .
    • To make the changes right now, click
      Deploy immediately
      .
  9. In the Target area, decide how you want to deploy these changes.
    • To deploy the changes to specific devices, click
      Deploy to Devices
      . Then move the devices you want from the Available list to the Selected list.
    • To deploy the changes to all devices in one or more sync groups, click
      Deploy to Sync Groups
      . Then move the sync groups you want from the Available list to the Selected list.
  10. If you decide you want to remove one of the objects selected for deployment, you can select it and then click
    Remove
    .
  11. Click
    Deploy
    to start deployment.
    A confirmation screen notifies you that you are about to trigger a deployment.