Manual Chapter : Evaluate DNS configuration changes

Applies To:

Show Versions Show Versions

BIG-IQ Centralized Management

  • 7.1.0
Manual Chapter

Evaluate DNS configuration changes

Evaluating your changes gives you a chance to spot critical errors and review your revisions one more time before deploying them.
  1. At the top of the screen, click
    Deployment
    .
  2. Under
    EVALUATE & DEPLOY
    , select
    DNS
    .
    The screen opens a list of DNS evaluations and deployments that have been created on this device.
  3. Under Evaluations, click
    Create
    .
    The New Evaluation screen opens.
  4. Type a
    Name
    and an optional
    Description
    for the evaluation task you are creating.
  5. Type a brief
    Description
    for the evaluation task you are creating.
  6. For the
    Source
    , select what you want to evaluate.
    • When you want to compare the object settings currently on the managed device with the object settings in the pending version, select
      Current Changes
      .
    • When you want to compare the object settings currently on the managed device with the object settings in a stored snapshot, select
      Existing Snapshot
      , then choose the snapshot you want to use.
  7. Specify whether you want unused objects to be deleted from the BIG-IP devices to which you are deploying changes. If you do not want unused objects to be deleted, select
    Keep Unused Objects
    .
    To understand what an unused object is, consider the following example:
    There are two address lists on the BIG-IP device to which you are about to deploy changes (
    AddressList-a
    and
    AddressList-b
    ).
    • AddressList-a
      is referenced by a policy that is in turn referenced by a firewall context.
    • AddressList-b
      is not referenced (directly or indirectly) by any objects.
    If you leave
    Remove Unused Objects
    (the default) selected, then when you deploy changes to the BIG-IP device,
    AddressList-b
    is deleted. If you don’t want it deleted, select
    Keep Unused Objects
    .
  8. In the Target area, specify how you want to deploy these changes.
    • To deploy the changes to specific devices, click
      Deploy to Devices
      . Then move the devices you want from the
      Available
      list to the
      Selected
      list.
    • To deploy the changes to all devices in one or more sync groups, click
      Deploy to Sync Groups
      . Then move the sync groups you want from the
      Available
      list to the
      Selected
      list.
  9. If you decide you want to remove one of the objects selected for deployment, you can select it and then click
    Remove
    .
  10. Click the
    Create
    button at the bottom of the screen.
    The system adds the new evaluation to the list, and analyzes the changes for errors. When the configuration evaluation finishes, you see how many changes or errors the evaluation found.
  11. Review the evaluation to determine whether you are going to deploy it.
    1. If there are critical errors, you cannot deploy these changes. In the Critical Errors column, click each error to see what it is, and then go back to where you made the change to fix it.
      After resolving any critical errors, you can come back and repeat the evaluation.
    2. If there are verification warnings, you can still deploy your changes, but you will probably want to resolve the warnings first. In the Verification Warnings column, click each warning to see what it is, and then go back to where you made the change to fix it.
      After resolving any verification warnings, you can come back and repeat the evaluation.
    3. If there are no critical errors or verification warnings, review the changes by clicking the
      view
      link.
      Each change is listed. You can review each one by clicking the name.
      When you create an evaluation to deploy an ASM or AFM object that is referenced by a Local Traffic & Network object, it can trigger a verification error. This occurs for a few related object types that require manual intervention before you can deploy objects that reference them. To deploy these objects, you must deploy the related object and the object that references it using the Local Traffic & Network user interface. In some cases, before you deploy, you need to pin the related object to a pinning policy that establishes the relationship between a device and that object.
      • If you get a verification error that requires a Local Traffic & Network deployment, use the partial deployment option to deploy the Local Traffic & Network object. After you complete the partial deployment, you can complete the deployment that triggered the error.
      • If you get a verification error with a
        Pin Object
        button that requires a Local Traffic & Network deployment, click the button to associate the two objects, and then use the partial deployment option to deploy the Local Traffic & Network object. After you complete the partial deployment, you can complete the deployment that triggered the error.
      For additional detail on pinning related objects, refer to
      Managing Object Pinning
      in
      F5 BIG-IQ Centralized Management: Security
      on
      support.f5.com
      .
    4. When you finish reviewing the differences, click
      Cancel
      .
Before BIG-IQ applies these just-evaluated object changes to the managed device, you must deploy them. Refer to
Deploy configuration changes
for instructions.