Manual Chapter : WANJet® Appliance Administrator Guide: Glossary

Applies To:

Show Versions Show Versions


  • 4.2.10, 4.2.3, 4.2.2, 4.2.1, 4.2.0
Manual Chapter


active unit

In a redundant system, the active unit is the system that currently optimizes connections. If the active unit in the redundant system fails, the standby unit assumes control and begins to optimize connections. See also redundant system.

Application QoS

Application QoS provides better service for data flows by configuring policies that can adjust the bandwidth consumed by specific types of network traffic (also referred to as traffic shaping). This way, you can use the network bandwidth optimally for critical network traffic. See also Quality of Service (QoS) level.


Bandwidth specifies the amount of data that can be transferred over a network connection in a fixed amount of time. Bandwidth is usually stated in bits per second (bps), kilobits per second (Kbps), or megabits per second (Mbps).

Connection Interception (CI)

Connection Interception (CI) intercepts and resets connections that were initiated before the WANJet appliance became active on the network.


The dashboard is the area at the top of the navigation pane in the Web UI. It displays a variety of status indicators and shortcuts, and is always visible in the Web UI.


Failover is the process whereby a standby unit in a redundant system takes over when a software failure or a hardware failure is detected on the active unit.

generic routing encapsulation

Generic routing encapsulation (GRE) tunneling typically connects private IP networks over an Internet connection using two routers (or switches) that support GRE encapsulation.

Layer 1 through Layer 7

Layers 1 through 7 refer to the seven layers of the Open System Interconnection (OSI) model. Thus, Layer 1 represents the physical layer, Layer 2 represents the data-link layer, Layer 3 represents the IP layer, and Layer 4 represents the transport layer (TCP and UDP). Layer 5 manages connections between applications, and Layer 6 represents the presentation layer. Layer 7 represents the application layer, handling traffic such as HTTP and SSL.


LCD stands for liquid crystal display. An LCD panel is available on the front of WANJet 400 and 500 platforms. You can use the LCD and its associated keypad to configure the LAN, WAN, and Management ports on the unit and perform basic administration tasks.

LED indicators

The LED indicators on the front of the WANJet appliance are lights that show the status of the system.

Management port

The Management port on the WANJet appliance can connect to the management network, if your organization is using out-of-band management.


A network interface card (NIC) is an expansion board used to connect a computer to a network.

OSI model

See Layer 1 through Layer 7.

Peer port

The Peer port on the WANJet appliance is an Ethernet port that can connect using a crossover cable to a second WANJet appliance to form a redundant system. See also redundant system.

Quality of Service (QoS) level

The Quality of Service (QoS) level is a means by which network equipment can identify and treat traffic differently based on an identifier. Essentially, the QoS level specified in a packet enforces a throughput policy for that packet. See also Application QoS.

redundant system

Redundant system refers to a pair of units that are configured for failover. In a redundant system, there are two units, one running as the active unit and one running as the standby unit. If the active unit fails, the standby unit takes over and manages connection requests.


A router is a Layer 3 networking device. If no VLANs are defined on the network, a router defines a broadcast domain.

SSL (Secure Sockets Layer)

SSL is a network communications protocol that uses public-key technology as a way to transmit data in a secure manner.

standby unit

A standby unit in a redundant system is a unit that is always prepared to become the active unit if the active unit fails.

Transparent Data Reduction™ (TDR)

TDR technology provides a dramatic reduction in the amount of bandwidth consumed by repeated data transfers across a WAN link.

Type of Service (ToS) level

The Type of Service (ToS) level is another means, in addition to the Quality of Service (QoS) level, by which network equipment can identify and treat traffic differently based on an identifier.

VLAN (Virtual LAN)

VLAN stands for virtual local area network. A VLAN is a logical grouping of network devices. VLANs provide a way to structure a large network for increased security, separating systems with sensitive data, for special projects, or into separate departments.

VLAN tag

A VLAN tag (also known as a VLAN ID) is a unique number between 2 and 4094 that identifies a particular VLAN.

WAN (wide area network)

A WAN is a computer network that spans a large geographic area, and typically consists of two or more local area networks (LANs). A WAN may also include public or shared user networks. The most well-known example of a WAN is the Internet.

Web UI

The Web UI is the interface to the WANJet appliance through which you can configure it and monitor network activity.